Oakies

Somewhere in between the photo prompts provided by JSW Prompt on A Writer’s Life and Kat’s Twittering Tales I was reminded of the thousands of Oklahomans who migrated to California during the Dust Bowl of the 1930’s.

Photo credit: Easystreet

Deddy sed we was a goin’ to the land a milk n hunny, but when we got there it were dry n brown and folks said we tawk funny.

There weren’t no jobs- very little milk, and we ain’t never seen no hunny. Cal-i-for-ni-a weren’t a very friendly place, for folks din’t have no munny.

They took to callin’ us Oakies- as if it were somethin’ bad to be. As if for some kinda reason, it were shameful, justa be me.

Weren’t none of them folks from there, so I never did understand, what made them think they was better ‘an me, ’cause I was born on Oklahoma land..

No sir, Cal-i-for-ni-a, weren’t what it was cracked up to be. So lord, if that’s where you’re serving milk and hunny- don’t set no place for me..

JSW Photo Prompt

Kat’s Twittering Tales photo by Pixel @Pixabay.com


12 thoughts on “Oakies

Leave a comment